Office of Undergraduate Advising & Academic Services

Lerner Student Organizations

The Alfred Lerner College of Business and Economics is home to a number of student organizations and honor societies that provide major specific and career development opportunities. If you would like to discuss your interest or find out about membership in one or more of these organizations, please contact the faculty advisor of the organization as listed below:

Accounting Student Association
Advisor: Ms. Debra Dragone and Dr. Jeff Gillespie
Phone: 831-6818, 831-1790
Email: dragoned@udel.edu, gillespj@udel.edu

Alpha Kappa Psi
Advisors: Dr. Ellen Monk and Ms. Diane Wright
Phone: 831-1794 and 831-6515
Email: monke@udel.edu, wrightd@udel.edu

Alpha Mu Alpha - National Honor Society in Marketing
Advisor: Dr. David Muir
Phone: 831-6526
Email: muir@udel.edu

Association for Latino Professionals in Finance and Accounting - ALPFA
Advisor: Rita Kingery Cook
Phone: 831-4675
Email: kingeryr@udel.edu

American Hotel and Lodging Association
Advisor: Dr. Robert Nelson
Phone: 831-6455
Email: bnelson@udel.edu

Association for Information Systems
Advisors: Ms. Diane Wright, Dr. Andrea Everard
Phone: 831-6515, 831-4677
Email: wrightd@udel.edu, everarda@udel.edu

Bakers Dozen
Advisor: Sous Chef Debbie Ellingsworth
Phone: 831-0501
Email: de@udel.edu

B&E Student Advisory Board
Advisor: Dr. John Antil
Phone: 831-1791
Email: antilj@udel.edu

Blue Hen Investment Club
Advisor: Rich Jakotowicz
Phone: 831-7226
Email: richj@udel.edu

Blue Hen Marketing Club
Advisor: Dr.Julia Bayuk
Phone: 831-1027
Email: BlueHenMarketingClub@gmail.com

Club Managers Association of America (CMAA)
Advisor: Dr. Ali Poorani
Phone: 831-6353
Email: poorani@udel.edu

Delta Sigma Pi
Advisor: Ms. Debra Dragone
Phone: 831-6818
Email: dragoned@udel.edu

Entrepreneurship Club
Advisor: Dr. Daniel Freeman
Phone: 831-6158
Email: freemand@udel.edu

Eta Sigma Delta
Advisor: Dr. Joanne Yoo
Phone: 831-6476
Email: jyoo@udel.edu

Financial Management Association
Advisor: Mr. Tim Detwiler
Phone: 831-6820
Email: detwiler@udel.edu

Hospitality Club
Advisors: Professor Ron Cole, Professor Paul Sestak
Phone: 831-6514, 831-8553
Email: rpc@udel.edu, sestak@udel.edu

Hospitality Sales and Marketing Association International (HSMAI)
Advisor: Dr. Srikanth Beldona
Phone: 831-6192
Email: beldona@udel.edu

Humanitarian Hospitality Society (HHS)
Advisors: Dr. Ali Poorani
Phone: 831-6353
Email: poorani@udel.edu

National Association of Black Accountants - NABA
Advisor: Dr. Jennifer Joe 
Phone: 831-6002
Email: jjoe@udel.edu

National Society of Minorities of Hospitality
Advisor: Dr. Francis Kwansa
Phone: 831-6083
Email: kwansa@udel.edu

Omicron Delta Epsilon - International Honors Society in Economics
Advisor: Dr.Elizabeth Bayley
Phone: 831-4623
Email: ebayley@udel.edu

Professional Convention Management Association
Advisor: Dr. Brian Miller
Phone: 831-6186
Email: blm@udel.edu

Public Relations Team/Hotel Restaurant Institutional Management
Advisor: Dr. Sheryl Kline
Phone: 831-6077
Email: skline@udel.edu

Women in Business
Advisor: Ms. Susan Murphy
Phone: 831-4672
Email: murphys@udel.edu

The Lerner College is home to a state-of-the-art financial trading facility, the $1.5 million student-led Blue Hen Investment Club, a student-managed restaurant and hotel, a high-technology development center of a global bank and a start-up experience for students with new business ideas.

Lerner College faculty - like Meryl Gardner, whose research on foods and moods was recently published in the Journal of Consumer Psychology - are thought leaders who command attention from influential business audiences, economists and policy makers.

All Lerner College departments offer discovery learning experiences and emphasize data-based analytics to enrich the student experience. Here, students at Vita Nova, our award-winning restaurant run through HRIM, joined professional chefs and winemakers in hosting a 2014 Mid-Atlantic Wine and Food Festival event.

The Institute for Financial Services Analytics is a collaboration between the Lerner College, UD's College of Engineering and JPMorgan Chase, and hosts events for academics and the business community designed to address consumer analytics and industry applications.

Undergraduate scholarships, made possible through the generosity of alumni and friends, enable us to support promising scholars. Here, Delaware Gov. Jack Markell and his mother, Leni Markell, join recipients of the William Markell Scholarship (center), which benefits students in Accounting and MIS.

  • Alfred Lerner College of Business & Economics
    303 Alfred Lerner Hall  •  Newark, DE 19716  •  USA  •  ©