Horn Program in EntrepreneurshipHORN multicolor box

Contact Us

The Horn Program in Entrepreneurship is a university-wide enterprise, but our administrative home is in the Alfred Lerner College of Business & Economics. Our daily operations occur at the Venture Development Center (VDC) located at 132 East Delaware Avenue, Suite 100, Newark, DE 19711 (Google Map).

The Venture Development Center is open 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. During the summer the VDC closes daily at 4 p.m. For more information about the Horn Program in Entrepreneurship please email us at hornprogram@udel.edu or reach us by phone at (302) 831-4393.

Driving Directions

When heading east on Delaware Avenue (one-way street), the Venture Development Center is located on the left side after the intersection of Academy Street & the newly constructed Washington House Condominiums. Our driveway is immediately before the building & reserved parking is available upon request.

Staff

Dan FreemanDirectorfreemand@udel.edu

Stefanie Spatola | Assistant Director sspatola@udel.edu

Julie Frieswyk | External Programs Coordinator | julief@udel.edu

Tricia MonnigProgram Administrator & Academic Advisortmonnig@udel.edu

Chris Kilgus | Graduate Assistant | kilguscc@udel.edu

Sue Parkowski | Venture Development Center Operations | suep@udel.edu

Loren Flores | Media Production | lflores@udel.edu

Russel Kogan | Media Production | rkogan@udel.edu

Jackie Anninos | Special Programs Assistant | janninos@udel.edu

Jill Koenighain | Special Programs Assistantjkoenig@udel.edu

Ben Rapkin | President, Entrepreneurship Club | brapkin@udel.edu

The Lerner College is home to a state-of-the-art financial trading facility, the $1.5 million student-led Blue Hen Investment Club, a student-managed restaurant and hotel, a high-technology development center of a global bank and a start-up experience for students with new business ideas.

Lerner College faculty - like Meryl Gardner, whose research on foods and moods was recently published in the Journal of Consumer Psychology - are thought leaders who command attention from influential business audiences, economists and policy makers.

All Lerner College departments offer discovery learning experiences and emphasize data-based analytics to enrich the student experience. Here, students at Vita Nova, our award-winning restaurant run through HRIM, joined professional chefs and winemakers in hosting a 2014 Mid-Atlantic Wine and Food Festival event.

The Institute for Financial Services Analytics is a collaboration between the Lerner College, UD's College of Engineering and JPMorgan Chase, and hosts events for academics and the business community designed to address consumer analytics and industry applications.

Undergraduate scholarships, made possible through the generosity of alumni and friends, enable us to support promising scholars. Here, Delaware Gov. Jack Markell and his mother, Leni Markell, join recipients of the William Markell Scholarship (center), which benefits students in Accounting and MIS.

  • Alfred Lerner College of Business & Economics
    303 Alfred Lerner Hall  •  Newark, DE 19716  •  USA  •  ©